Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

Asbury Park, NJ

with 3 comments

Since I’m suffering a bit of writer’s block this week, I thought I would take the opportunity to post one of the writing assignments from a previous writing course. I was quite proud of the imagery this short story evinced. I hope y’all enjoy it as much as I do.

ASBURY PARK, NJ

Finally, we made it! With all the traffic on the Parkway, I thought we’d never get here! It seems like everyone is heading to the shore today. Who can blame them? It’s a perfect day.

Walking down to the water, my feet sink into the sun-warmed sand, grabbing them like hot, scratchy socks and leaving gritty remnants between my toes.  A light breeze from the ocean flutters the blanket as we unfold it and lay it on the sand.

I unpack the beach bag and pull out a radio and some sunscreen. Music and news come from radios all up and down the beach as I apply the sunscreen. The sweet coconut fragrance surrounds me as the cool lotion disappears into my skin.

An icy chill rushes through my sun-baked body as the ocean waves crash into us and the outgoing tide pulls us to and fro.  A gulp of salty seawater quickly reminds me to keep my mouth closed as we swim towards shore.

After a refreshing shower and a change of clothes, we hit the Boardwalk and our senses are assaulted by a cacophony of sounds from the arcades and carnival barkers and the excited screams of the people on the thrill rides.

The roller coaster is alive with a pulsating rainbow of neon lights chasing the ride vehicle as it climbs, twists and streaks its way around the track. Children are laughing with glee as they mount their favorite painted pony and gallop ’round and ’round on the carousel, its red and white striped awning spinning into a blur.

The sweet, fruity aroma of cotton candy grabs us by the nose and pulls us over to the concession stand. Pastel colored crystals pour  into the machine and silky, web-like strands are spun on a paper cone. As the sugary lightness hits my tongue, it immediately dissolves into a puddle of blueberry sweetness.

The ride home is quiet except for the hum of the tires on the highway as everyone reflects on the sun-filled, fun-filled day.

© Copyright 2003 by David A. Ufer

Written by David A. Ufer

October 10, 2011 at 9:01 am

Posted in Stories

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great story I can feel the sand between my toes…..

    Maryann

    October 11, 2011 at 7:54 pm

  2. Imagery, yes. The opposite of my cool rainy fall morning in Mississippi, though it is quite pleasant here today. Good job.

    Carl Purdon

    October 23, 2011 at 1:11 pm

  3. I just realized I never said thank you Carl. So thank you!

    davidufer

    April 25, 2012 at 4:20 pm


Leave a Reply

