Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

Off the Couch and Back to Work!

with 2 comments

Today as you read this I will be back at work after a 7-week unemployment stint. After 11 years at my former job, our duties and responsibilities were outsourced to an Indian firm. Tata, job! Granted we were given notice that our jobs would be gone at this time due to a relocation effort but the outsourcing was an added wrinkle that we didn’t count on so any possible moves within the firm were pretty much gone.

However, that loss turned into a major gain. During my down time I was able to take care of some items that had been dogging me for a while and set myself up for hopefully a less stressful future. The dark cloud truly had a silver lining.

I am looking forward to this new opportunity and the heavier responsibilities that come with it. I usually keep the same three New Year’s Resolutions from year to year; perhaps this is the year that all three come to pass during the same year. I’m used to having a rotation of a couple of them during any given year but never all three. Fingers crossed this time.

I bought some new clothes for this new job, something I haven’t done in years and I have to say, I was impressed with some of the sales I managed to find. Who says the malls aren’t good for anything? But oh my goodness, parents, what are you thinking letting your teenage daughters go out looking like they do?! Holy cow! Between the outfits on the girls and the behavior of the boys, I remembered why I had forsaken the malls for so long.

So while I was enjoying my time off, seven weeks was too long and it is definitely time to get back at it.

Wish me luck!

Written by David A. Ufer

November 7, 2011 at 7:07 am

Posted in Me

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck…You’re gonna do fine!!

    Terri Carr-Amato

    November 7, 2011 at 7:52 pm

  2. Hope your first week is going well!

    Laura (Tampa BookWorm)

    November 9, 2011 at 12:06 pm


Leave a Reply

