Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

A Brave New World (Not For the Faint of Heart)

with 2 comments

Aldous Huxley had his ideas on life in the future and, surprisingly, I have my own ideas on current life and relationships.

I grew up in a time where if a man wanted to find a good woman he had to have a steady job, provide a decent living, be kind and have his own place. So as we go down the checklist, I’ve met all the criteria; but sadly, the rules have changed.

Women are much more independent now than they were back in the day; damn you, Gloria Steinem! I also blame TV, movies and Hollywood. Now all the women flock toward dirty looking, long-haired ne’er-do-wells, less than savory stars and glittery, brooding vampires! C’mon, really?! The guy sucks as an actor and looks like he hasn’t bathed in years.

Also, women aren’t looking to get married anymore; or at least women who have been married before and are now single once again. I can grudgingly accept that to a point; Hell, I’ve been single for so long now, I may not even want to get married again but I like to have that option available. It seems the whole fear of commitment idea has left the male species and taken hold with the females.

“Why do you need that piece of paper to be in a committed relationship?” I hear this when I take my unscientific polls on the subject. Well, because……that’s why!

I don’t know why it seems so important to me; maybe it’s just the world I was brought up in. Whatever the reason, I need to adjust my expectations and just live in sin. Not that that’s an entirely un-pleasurable situation.

Welcome to dating in the new century; put on your game face and emotional armor and have a ball!

Written by David A. Ufer

March 5, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Posted in Relationships

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don”t know David maybe it’s more popular to not care about anything and party for the moment to join the crowd but if that’s not who you are or want to be you will probably find it hard to do. Many people pull it off that aren”t that way deep down inside but you will find many of those using booze or drugs to pull it off. While they may have everyone fooled they are mainly fooling themselves and maybe that’s what they think they need to survive. As for you I don”t see it.

    Rich

    April 16, 2012 at 6:49 am


Leave a Reply

