Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

April 30th, 1963

with 8 comments

Tuesday, April 30, 1963.

That was the day my sister, Amy, was born. Hackensack Hospital was busy that week as both my mom and one of my aunts were there for the birth of their second children, both girls. I wasn’t around yet but I followed shortly after.

When I was a baby, my mom used to put my sister in her playpen on the front lawn of our house while she took care of me inside. Neighbors would walk past the house and smile at the cute, curly blonde-haired girl with the sweetest disposition in the world. Try doing that today!

My sister was my very first best friend and as she got older, my second mother. We would play together all day in the house, her with her Barbie dolls and me with my GI Joe men. We would rake the leaves in the yard into floor plan configurations and play in our “house” or jump into the huge piles that we made. We got into big trouble one day for riding our bikes to the Ascension school and playing by the little river in the back. Our father was not pleased at all!

As bratty brothers will do, I picked on my sister at times until she would cry and run upstairs to her room. Of course then I had to cheer her up so we could play together again. My brother and I must have done that quite a bit because we have a couple of pictures of the three of us with Amy wiping away tears. Hahahaha, we must have been bad (or maybe it was just me).

My sister is the last hold-out of the Ufer clan still living in New Jersey but she has a beautiful house and a great husband and they come to visit whenever they can. It’s been a while since I’ve seen her so maybe a trip up North is in order.

Happy birthday Amy! I love you!

Written by David A. Ufer

April 30, 2012 at 6:29 am

Posted in Family

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My sister was one year older than me and she was my first best friend…. Gi joes and barbie dolls…..

    Rich greene

    April 30, 2012 at 7:25 am

  2. Good times….

    davidufer

    April 30, 2012 at 10:24 am

  3. I feel so special. Someone blogged about me! I am both laughing and crying. (Yes, once again my brother made me cry) I remember all those times and more. Like the time you were teasing me that you were going to spit on me, and then you accidently DID! Or the time we were rolling on the living room floor fighting and somehow my pierced earring got ripped right out of my ear. One hole is still bigger than the other to this day. But, I also remember you inviting me to Bruce Springsteen concerts, hanging with the cousins at Grandma and Grandpa’s, and just always being there (usually goofing on me, but always done with love).

    I lucked out having a brother like you. It almost makes it worth turning 49.

    Thanks for the birthday wishes. I love you, too.

    p.s. Do you know anyone else who needed an architecture degree to make a leaf house? I don’t think you do.

    Amy Farley

    April 30, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    • Yeah, I could have written a book with all my memories.

      davidufer

      April 30, 2012 at 9:33 pm

      • Oh! Is your next book going to be about MOI?? I was wondering when someone would write my biography. WIll it be in the form of a children’s book? “Little Amy Loses an Earring” or “How to Ignore Taunts and Teasing from Your Siblings” would be excellent titles. Hahahahaha.

        Amy Farley

        May 1, 2012 at 7:51 pm

  4. “How to Steal Bread With Your Older Brother”.

    davidufer

    May 1, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    • I was so gullible. Maybe that’s because I was 2, he sucked me in to that scam

      Amy Farley

      May 1, 2012 at 8:12 pm


Leave a Reply

