Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

If You’re Not Having Fun…..

with 5 comments

….just keep drinkin’. Yeah, yeah, my friends and I have heard that many, many times and it is a humorous saying but there is some danger behind that phrase.

<Warning! The soapbox is out and I am about to lecture  from it. Those easily annoyed may want to stop reading now.>

I lost a friend this past year due to alcholism. He knew he had a problem and chose not to face it until it was too late and the damage was already done. While I respect his willingness to conquer that demon, I wish he would have gotten help much earlier. He was far too young to have been taken from us and left a horrible void in many lives; a void that will never be filled.

My friends and I are like most people. We work hard during the week and can’t wait for the weekend so we can spend time together and blow off some steam. A portion of that time is spent in bars, clubs or restaurants where we enjoy a drink or two (or three……). It seems that the majority of activities in our area involve alcohol. If we can’t have fun without drinking, what’s the sense? I’m not proclaiming we should become teetotalers but I would hate to lose any more friends because of unwise choices.

I can only speak for myself and say I’ve become less enamored with the idea of going out and drinking all night. I wasn’t much of a drinker before and the few beers I do have go mostly unfinished anyway but still, I am just as guilty as anyone. I am paranoid of having just one beer and getting a DUI and I certainly know the unhealthy aspects of alcohol, so it’s pretty much a no brainer to me.

We are all big boys and girls and responsible for ourselves and our actions but we also have a responsibility for each other. I love my friends and want them around a long time; healthy, happy and able to remember the previous day. If one of my friends had gotten the help he needed sooner, I would have been able to wish him a happy 48th birthday instead of writing this.

Written by David A. Ufer

May 21, 2012 at 6:05 am

Posted in Friends, Health

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry you lost your friend but just maybe your words may save one or two others. Couldn’t agree more.

    Rich

    May 21, 2012 at 8:08 am

  2. Thanks Rich. I’m all for having a good time and I’m not going to preach to anyone but I just wanted to put that out there.

    davidufer

    May 21, 2012 at 8:16 am

  3. Excellent, excellent, excellent.

    Deanna Ufer

    May 21, 2012 at 9:22 am

  4. There were many times I left my restaurant job too over the limit and driving home. What was I thinking? A word to the wise… Never put yourself in jeopardy…make good choices.

    sophia

    May 23, 2012 at 1:09 pm


Leave a Reply

