Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

To Tip or Not To Tip….The Restroom Attendant

with 2 comments

“Oh yeah, make sure everyone has plenty of singles before we head out!”

Those instructions were shouted out last night by a friend before we made our way to one of the local watering holes. I had one single, one fin and a couple Andrew Jacksons in my wallet. I performed a “freebie” before leaving the house hoping I could minimize the outlay of cash during the evening.

Let’s get this out in the open first. I am not a cheapskate but do I really have to tip someone for the pleasure of being able to wash my hands? I mean, the establishment provides soap, water and towels in the restroom. What is the attendant doing for me that I can’t do for myself?

I used my single during the course of the evening after the attendant deftly pumped his supply of  liquid soap into my palm and equally skillfully handed me not one but two! sheets of paper towel. Phew, where would I have been without him?! If he really wanted a nice tip, he should have grabbed the germ infested handle and opened the door for me as I left!

The subsequent trip was another “freebie” because I only had the Benjamin and matching pair of Jacksons and I wasn’t going to ask for change or tip that large.

I can maybe understand having an attendant in an upscale restaurant or club but lately this area has been getting inundated with these “bathroom bullies” and trust me, the places I frequent are certainly NOT upscale. 🙂

So tell me, do you tip or not? If so, how much per trip?

Written by David A. Ufer

June 11, 2012 at 6:27 am

Posted in Florida, Health

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Still a little disturbed about what the “freebie” was. Also, how does the job interview for “Guy that Hangs out in Public Restrooms for Money” go, and what does the job posting look like? Is there a career path, health plan, 401k?

    Rick

    June 11, 2012 at 6:34 am

  2. If you’re doIng it for charity that’s one thing but if you’re paying for a service you do not want and truly wish it would go away then don’t because if you don’t it will.

    Rich greene

    June 11, 2012 at 7:35 am


Leave a Reply

