Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

Running After Age 40

with 2 comments

When I was younger running came naturally and easily. I would jump out of bed, get dressed, run down the stairs, eat and fly out the door. I would be gone all day, running around the neighborhood with my friends and hardly ever sitting still. Now, things hurt; ankles, knees, back, shoulders……..some concessions have to be made.

It takes longer to warm up and my speed is not quite what it used to be. Shorter steps have replaced the bone-jarring, long-legged strides of my youth, well for the most part anyway. I still feel young and foolish every once in a while and sprint it out.

Gone are the consecutive running days, now I alternate working out at home with running the streets during the week. Gone are the days of eating anything in sight without a care in the world; now it’s mostly chicken, salads, fruits and vegetables. No fast food, no caffeine to speak of, although I did slip up the other day.

It’s harder to stay motivated now so I try to register for a 5K run here and there to give me something tangible to train for.

It’s not easy trying to stay in shape after age 40 but like my doctor tells me, “How we treat our bodies the first 50 years will decide how our bodies treat us the next 50.”

 

Written by David A. Ufer

June 24, 2012 at 6:09 am

Posted in Health, Me, Sports

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My body hurts when I sit still so I run

    Rich

    June 25, 2012 at 7:13 am

  2. Whatever gets you through the night…it’s alright….it’s alright

    davidufer

    June 25, 2012 at 5:39 pm


Leave a Reply

