Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

The “F” Word

with one comment

It’s everywhere, from seemingly everyone’s mouth. We’ve all heard it and most of us have probably said it at one time or another; the “F Bomb”. I hear it on the street, on TV, in music and even in my workplace. To some, that word is no big deal but to others of a certain generation, it’s still quite offensive.

I was out at a local bar/restaurant the other night shooting pool with a friend. There was a group of early twenty-somethings across the room, telling tales and swapping stories. One young man was regaling his friends with his tales of derring-do, bar fights and other sorted deeds. While his story was quite entertaining, he must have used the F-word two or three times per sentence. I was both saddened and disgusted by his choice of vocabulary as I am most times when I hear that word.

I remember one incident in my past when I laced my conversation with that particular vulgarity. I was running in an indoor track meet in NYC and had just won my heat in a 400M event. My track coach, who was also my English teacher, met me in the hall outside the arena. I hadn’t run much yet that season having joined late but I owned that particular event. I was just as excited as my coach and could hardly contain myself. My coach was excitedly talking to me and asked me how I did what I just did on the track. In my cockiness and bravado, I blurted out how I just got out there and “effing” ran!

If I could go back in time, I would travel to that particular moment and choose a much more appropriate and thoughtful response. I saw in my coaches’ face and heard in his voice the disappointment of my particular choice of wording. I’m sure as an English teacher that word offended him quite a bit. I’ve apologized to him in my mind every time I think of that moment and I’d just like to say here, Hap, I’m truly sorry. You deserved a much more articulate and thoughtful discussion of my awesome performance. 🙂

To those of you who might read this and think the word is no big deal, it’s still a shocker for some to hear. There are so many words in so many languages to choose from, do we really have to resort to that one?

Written by David A. Ufer

August 27, 2012 at 6:58 am

Posted in Language, Me

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I totally agree!

    Laura (Tampa BookWorm)

    August 27, 2012 at 8:01 am


Leave a Reply

