Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

Labor Day (The End of Summer and Back to School)

leave a comment »

Labor Day – the official end of summer for us kids when we were growing up in New Jersey. I remember looking forward to seeing some of my friends I hadn’t seen much during the summer and also being a little nervous as to what the coming school year would bring.

We had our new school items all neatly packed and ready to go. Every year was going to be the year we really buckled down and paid attention in school. Our notebooks would be kept in order with every subject having its own section and we wouldn’t wait until the last minute to do our homework and assignments. During a good year, all these self-imposed goals would last maybe a few weeks or a month if we were really determined.

I was one of those students who could get by with doing just enough and that was fine with me. I really didn’t care for school at all and I’m sure I was not alone in that mindset. I had my favorite classes, of course; English, Biology, Physics and Woodworking were always fun for me but for the most part I was bored out of my mind and desperate to get the heck out of there.

My desires were always out on the track. I dreaded the workouts each day because that meant I was going to be in pain while running them but deep down I loved every second of it! If I could go back in time to my high school days, I don’t necessarily think I would be a better student but I certainly would be a better athlete. I would work my tail off on that track and score more wins and medals than I did.

Now Labor Day is just a day off from work. The sun sets earlier and earlier each night until I get up and drive to work in the dark and then drive home from work in the dark as well. There’s not much opportunity to see or spend time in the sun and that’s perhaps the saddest part about this time of year.

I hope everyone had a great summer and remember, another summer season is just nine months away.

Written by David A. Ufer

September 3, 2012 at 6:56 am

Posted in Holidays

Leave a Reply

