Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

Where’s Your Passion?

leave a comment »

During my school visits to read my book and speak to the students about writing and life, I often leave them with one last thought; whatever you do in life, do it for the pure love of doing it, not for the money. Your passion for your craft will carry you far and the money will come.

I should follow my own advice.

As a kid, I never really knew what I wanted to be when I grew up. There were the usual fantasies of traveling in outer space, being a great sports hero or even a world famous rock and roll musician; however, those fantasies were just that. I grew up, or at least older anyway, and landed in the IT industry for lack of any real direction to do anything else with myself. A computer repair career led to a management career which has provided a nice living but it has never been, nor will it ever be, my passion.

I found my passion years ago when my first children’s book was published. Writing, traveling and speaking to kids about the process and life in general makes me very happy and satisfied. A friend of mine says she envisions me traveling and writing stories of all kind and being successful and happy; maybe she’s on to something.

So as I continue to chase that which will make me happy, I urge everyone to do the same. Don’t settle on a career just because you can make some money at it; do what truly satisfies you.

Find your passion and live it!

Written by David A. Ufer

October 1, 2012 at 5:52 am

Posted in Me, Stories

Leave a Reply

