Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

Oh My My, Key Lime Pie!

leave a comment »

I took a little weekend excursion to Anna Maria Island and dined at a wonderful place called The Sand Bar. This gem of a restaurant is directly on the beach with tables and chairs right on the sand. It was dark when we arrived which limited the view but the company I was with more than made up for that!

We ordered an appetizer of shrimp and grits as well as a fried shrimp salad. Both dishes were terrific but the piece de resistance was about to arrive; Key lime pie. I mostly order Key lime pie for dessert whenever I do decide to indulge myself so I can judge who has the best. Well, let me tell you, I have never had a slice more decadently delicious than last night!

Visually, there were no indications of the joy I was about to experience. A pale-yellow triangle was flanked by two rosettes of whipped cream with another atop the narrow end of the slice. A dark red ribbon of raspberry glace accompanied the pie on my plate.

Ok, so I had studied my dessert long enough; it was time to eat! I slid the business end of my fork sideways down through the tip of the Key lime goodness, pulling some of the freshly made whipped cream along for the ride and snapping the graham cracker crust with a very satisfying “click” against the plate. A hint of the raspberry sauce completed the ensemble.

My anticipation almost got the better of me but I offered the first bite to my date. The look on her face told me I had clearly made a wise choice for dessert. Now, it was my turn!

The syrupy pureed raspberry sauce hit me first. Its delicate sweetness was quickly followed by a little piece of Heaven on Earth. My lips puckered and my mouth watered with that first forkful of the tart, creamy pie filling. It melded with the raspberries to produce a glorious harmony the likes of which my taste buds have never known! A subtle touch of honey accompanied the crispness of the graham cracker to complete this almost spiritual trinity of flavor, lightness and crunch.

So there you have it, my unabashed ode to the most perfect slice of Key lime pie I have ever encountered. If you ever find yourself on Anna Maria Island, you owe it to your soul to track down this little morsel of goodness.

Enjoy!

Written by David A. Ufer

October 8, 2012 at 5:27 am

Leave a Reply

