Thoughts, Ideas and Stories

Once More Unto the Breach, Dear Friends, Once More;

leave a comment »

One door closes and another one opens.

Yep, we’ve all heard that cliche but maybe there is a reason why certain phrases are used so much that they enter cliche status. Sure, it’s an easy way to get our point across when we are trying to comfort a friend or even ourselves, but there must also be some truth behind them.

Time and again I’ve had doors close on me; sometimes slammed right in my face! And yet each time, that proverbial second portal always presented itself, often times when I wasn’t even looking for it. I’ve never been one to shy away from an adventure; the thrill, excitement and yes, uncertainty of the unknown wraps itself around me and pulls me closer into its sensuous grasp. I have sometimes stumbled through only to be met with a dead end or I have fallen into the abyss, losing myself and who I was while I fell.  This time I have been gently coaxed through a doorway barely five feet high.

Whatever lies beyond that delicate entry, I will face it head-on, determined and open-armed; it’s the only way I know.

Written by David A. Ufer

March 4, 2013 at 6:53 am

Leave a Reply

